Centipede Centipede Centipede

This is a short story entitled Centipede Centipede Centipede. I wrote it for a creative writing class, where I had to churn out a short story in one week. I didn’t know what to write about, so I decided to do what everyone’s always telling me to do: write from life. It’s based heavily on my own experiences as a teenager visiting France with my grandparents. Like Roger Tannen in the story, my grandfather had Parkinson’s disease. The disease eventually robbed him of his ability to communicate, but for a long time, there were things he could say and ways he could express himself. This story is about a man trying to express himself in spite of his illness, through the eyes of a young girl who doesn’t fully understand what’s going on.

It was published in The Shine Journal in October 2010. You can read it here.

Leave a Reply

